Mrs. Arroyo, FG in watchlist

Manila, Philippines – The Department of Justice (DoJ) issued yesterday a watchlist order (WLO) against former President now Pampanga Rep. Gloria M. Arroyo and her husband, former First Gentleman Atty. Jose Miguel “Mike” T. Arroyo, former Commission on Elections (Comelec) Chairman Benjamin S. Abalos Sr., former Justice Secretary Alberto Agra, and several other election officials and private individuals charged with election fraud in the 2007 elections.

Justice Secretary Leila de Lima said the issuance of the WLO was issued based on the findings of the joint DoJ-Comelec fact-finding team and the complaint filed by Sen. Koko Pimentel. Those included in the 60-day WLO cannot leave the country without a written clearance from the DoJ under a Circular No. 41 that took effect in May 2010. (Rey G. Panaligan)

What do you think?

Written by Johnny Lugay

Customs foils smuggling at PoM

Bill banning camps’ privatization OKd