Home » Sports » SMC-PSA Awards Night slated online

SMC-PSA Awards Night slated online

PSA logoFor the first time in its storied history, the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) will stage the annual SMC-PSA Awards Night online on March 27 as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Only a limited number of guests will be allowed at the TV5Media Center studio while the rest of the awardees and attendees will be hooked up online.

While the whole of sports wasn’t spared by COVID-19, a few Filipino athletes managed to shine and rise above adversities and gave the country something to cheer about in this time of despair.

Highlight of the unique but special event backed by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) is the awarding of the coveted Athlete of the Year trophy which is exclusively handed out by the country’s oldest media organization led by President Tito S. Talao, sports editor of the Manila Bulletin.

The other regular awards handed out in the yearly affair will also be presented such as the Executive of the Year, President’s Award, National Sports Association (NSA) of the Year, and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Major honorees in various sports are likewise included in the honor roll list as well as a handful of citations and special recognitions to people and entities which kept Philippine sports going in mankind’s darkest hour.

The hour-long program will be covered by Cignal TV to be hosted by Gretchen Ho and Carlo Pamintuan.

Last year, Team Philippines was the recipient of the Athlete of the Year honor following the country’s successful campaign during the 30th Southeast Asian Games where the Philippines emerged overall champion only for the second time in its 43-year campaign in the biennial meet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *