Home » Sports » Basketball » PBA bubble MVP revealed Sunday night

PBA bubble MVP revealed Sunday night

WILL Stanley Pringle be named BPC for guiding Barangay Ginebra to the Philippine Cup title? (PBA Images)

WILL Stanley Pringle be named BPC for guiding Barangay Ginebra to the Philippine Cup title? (PBA Images)


The spotlight will shine brightly on the one who gets to be named the Best Player of the Conference Sunday  when the PBA holds its virtual Awards Night to honor the top performers of the recent Philippine Cup bubble.

The announcement of the BPC which some describes as the bubble MVP caps off the simple ceremonies that starts at 6 p.m. and aired on all platforms of TV5 and One Sports.

Saved for Terrafirma’s CJ Perez whose chances are very remote due to his team’s disappointing run, there’s no clear favorite on the BPC race that is too difficult to call.

Barangay Ginebra San Miguel’s Stanley Pringle, TNT’s Ray Parks Jr. and RR Pogoy, Phoenix Super LPG’s Matthew Wright, and Calvin Abueva have strong cases for the bubble tournament’s top award.

Pringle’s consistent play was among the reasons for Ginebra’s title run in Pampanga while Parks topped the Statistical Points race despite ending his campaign with a calf strain.

Pogoy put up big offensive numbers during the early part of the conference and the Finals while Wright and Abueva almost led Phoenix to its first-ever stint in the PBA’s biggest stage with their exceptional performances.

Also to be announced is the winners of the Elite Five, Outstanding Rookie, Most Improved Player, and the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award.

Like the BPC, there’s also no clear shoo-in for the Elite Five particularly at the backcourt where two guards will comprise the team.

Parks, Pringle, Wright, Pogoy, and Perez are among the guards in contention for the Elite Five.

Meralco’s Aaron Black is a strong candidate for the Outstanding Rookie after a solid freshman campaign for the second round pick of the 2019 Draft.

Also nominated were Ginebra’s Arvin Tolentini, Alaska’s Barkley Ebona, Terrafirma’s Roosevelt Adams, and Magnolia’s Aris Dionisio.

Contesting the Most Improved plum are Phoenix’s Justin Chua and Jason Perkins, Ginebra’s Prince Caperal, Meralco’s Reynel Hugnatan, NLEX’s Raul Soyud, and Rain or Shine’s Javee Mocon while the Sportsmanship Award will be handed to either Abueva, Rain or Shine’s Gabe Norwood, Ginebra’s Scottie Thompson, NLEX’s Kevin Alas, and Perez.

Meanwhile, Joshua Munzon, considered as the best among the crop of amateurs set to turn pro, was among the latest to submit his name in the PBA Rookie Draft set March 14.

Munzon turned in his application on his 26th birth anniversary last Friday as the draft continues to attract big names from the collegiate ranks and leagues outside of the PBA.

The former ASEAN Basketball League, PBA D-League, and Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas 3×3 star is being groomed as a potential No. 1 pick of Terrafirma in the annual draft proceedings which will be held virtually.

His former Chooks 3×3 teammates Alvin Pasaol, Santi Santillan, and Troy Rike were among the early birds while ex-La Salle guard Andrei Caracut led a group that submitted applications earlier this week.

Ex-San Miguel Alab Pilipinas cagers Jason Brickman, Jeremiah Grey, and Brandon Rosser also applied for the draft but are in danger of being left out of the list due to lack of requirements, namely certification from the Bureau of Immigration and Department of Justice.