Home » Swimming » UP swimmers sweep UAAP competitions

UP swimmers sweep UAAP competitions

UP Swimming

University of the Philippines (UP) swept the men’s and women’s divisions which graduating Lady Maroon Claire Adorna highlighted with four gold medals in UAAP Season 76 swimming on Sunday at the Trace Aquatics Center in Los Baños, Laguna.

The Fighting Maroons collected 452 points to regain the crown they last won in 2010, defeating De La Salle, which placed second with 301 points, and last year’s champion Ateneo, which compiled 283 points for third place.

UP booked its 17th men’s title, but still pale compared to University of Santo Tomas’s (UST) 31.

The Lady Maroons amassed 587 points, 200 points ahead of 2008 titlist Lady Eagles, who tallied 387 points for second spot. The Lady Archers garnered 115 points for third place.

In her final season for UP, Adorna scooped four gold, one silver and one bronze medals. She established two new UAAP records in the 400-meter freestyle (4:33.69) and 200-meter backstroke (2:23.53) to help the Diliman-based swimmer cop their fifth consecutive tiara and 14th overall.

Last season’s Most Valuable Player-Rookie of the Year Delia Cordero and elder sister Denjylie Cordero also shared the limelight as they combined for seven golds, four silvers and two bronze medals.

Denjylie Cordero, the MVP in 2010 while swimming for Ateneo, reset UAAP records in the 50-meter breaststroke (34.01), 100-meter breaststroke (1:14.06), 200-meter breaststroke (2:37.75) and 200-meter individual medley (2:25.58). Delia Cordero, meanwhile, topped the 200-meter freestyle (2:09.91) and 200-meter butterfly events (2:21.34).

Former Blue Eaglet standout Gabe Castelo led the Fighting Maroons with gold medal finishes in the 50-meter (26.26) and 100-meter butterfly (57.45), while Charlie Walker also collected two golds in the 50-meter backstroke (27.33) and 50-meter freestyle (24.05).

With five gold and two silver medals, De La Salle star Johan Aguilar duplicated Enchong Dee’s feat by winning a third straight men’s MVP trophy. UP’s Christen Mercado was named men’s Rookie of the Year.

Ateneo’s Celina Gonzalez claimed her second women’s MVP award in three seasons after a four gold-three silver medal haul, while her teammate Thea Caluma became this season’s top rookie.

Meanwhile, newly-crowned nine-time boys champion Ateneo and newly-minted “three-peat” girls titlist University of the East shared the limelight in the juniors division.

Getty Reyes and Joshua Taleon, both of Ateneo, were named boys’ MVP and Rookie of the Year, respectively. UE’s Jhoy Mendoza is the girls MVP, while Ronalyn Lalimo of UST is the top rookie.