Home » Boxing » 12 boxers to SEAG

12 boxers to SEAG

The Alliance of Boxing Associations of the Philippines (ABAP) has submitted the names of 12 male and five women boxers to the Southeast Asian Games Task Force for consideration to the 27th edition of the 11-nation biennial meet in Myanmar this December.

“The task force will now screen the credentials and potentials as well as the winnability of the boxers,” said Paul Ycasas, who received yesterday the lineup submitted by ABAP executive director Ed Picson.

The 12 boxers are London Olympian Mark Anthony Barriga, Beijing Asian Games gold medalist Rey Saludar, Rogen Ladon, Ian Clark Bautista, Charly Suarez, Junel Cantancio, Eumir Felix Marcial, Dennis Galvan, Joel Bocato, Nathaniel Montealto and Wilfredo Lopez.

The women team is led by world campaigners Josie Gabuco, Nesthy Petecio Irish Magno, Maricris Igam and Margie Wagie.

Barriga is seeing action in the light flyweight class along with fellow internationalist Ladon.

Most of the boxers are veterans of numerous international competitions who earned the respect and adulation of their foreign peers.

Boxing won four gold medals courtesy of Dennis Galvan, Suarez, Gabuco and Alice Kate Appari, a silver by Petecio and a bronze by Saludar in the last SEA Games in Indonesia.

“We will send our best boxers because we want to preserve the winning tradition of boxing,” said Picson.

Meanwhile, four boxers left yesterday for Ukrain to compete in the World Junior Boxing championship slated Sept. 7-17 in the capital city Kiev. (Clyde Mariano)