Home » News Roundup » P200 M released for retired prosecutors

P200 M released for retired prosecutors


The Department of Budget and Management (DBM) released yesterday more than R200 million worth of pension of 85 retired Department of Justice (DOJ) prosecutors.

Justice Secretary Leila de Lima announced that the DOJ prosecutors who retired in 2010, 2011, and 2012 can now claim their retirement gratuity differential after the DBM gave the go-signal for the release of P246,795,219 funds allocated for their pension.

“This is a welcome development for the Department specifically the National Prosecution Service (NPS), and especially for the prosecutors who had worked so hard and had relentlessly dedicated the best time of their lives to uphold the rule of law,“ Sec. de Lima said in a statement.

In a memorandum dated May 17, 2013, Assistant Secretary for Finance Zabedin Azis and Prosecutor General Claro Arellano informed Sec. de Lima that the more than P200 million worth of funds was sourced from the DOJ Pension and Gratuity Fund for the year 2013 General Appropriations Act (GAA).

One of the 85 prosecutors-recipients of the retirement gratuity differential was the late Acting Cadiz City Prosecutor Marcelo del Pilar, who reportedly died last April 4 due to a heart seizure, without having received his retirement pay.

Sec. De Lima said del Pilar’s family is now entitled to receive P4,135,167.68, covering his unpaid retirement benefits.

Previously, the DBM and the Government Service Insurance System (GSIS) was set to sign a Joint Circular on April 15, 2013 to fast-track the payment of the prosecutors’ retirement benefits who bowed out from service for the period 2010 to 2012 under the new National Prosecution Service Act (Republic Act 10071).

Incoming search terms:

  • news in the philippines about police gratuity (1)