Home » PBA » PBA: Aces sweep Kings

PBA: Aces sweep Kings

The Alaska Aces drowned Ginebra San Miguel in the fourth period to complete a sweep, 104-80, to bag the PBA Commissioners Cup trophy over at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum.

The Aces outscored the Kings (33-8) in the fourth period, pouring on the gas starring Sonny Thoss, best import Robert Dozier, Calvin Abueva and JV Casio to hand Alaska its 14th championship in PBA history.

With Ginebra up at the end of the third (72-71), the last lead enjoyed by Ginebra was at 74-71 courtesy of a Mark Caguioa jumper.

But after a timeout, the Aces regrouped and went to work inside, taking advantage of Vernon Macklin who was seemingly not 100% healthy.

Thoss and Dozier went to work inside and would later on be joined by Calvin Abueva and JV Casio to practically bury the Kings who burned one timeout after another to try and regroup.

But the Aces would not be denied as the Aces went out blazing in the fourth after trailing by as much as 7 points in the early parts of the match.

The win handed coach Luigi Trillo his first PBA trophy and the team’s first since the departure of long-time coach Tim Cone who is now with the San Mig Coffee Mixers.

Alaska’s last championship came in 2009-10 when they defeated the San Miguel Beermen (4-2) to win the PBA Fiesta Conference.

Alaska import Robert Dozier won the PBA Best Import of the Conference while Ginebra San Miguel’s LA Tenorio copped the Best Player of the Conference title.

Sonny Thoss was later on adjudged as the PBA Finals MVP. (Brian Yalung)

The scores:
ALASKA 104 – Dozier 27, Abueva 22, Casio 18, Thoss 13, Baguio 7, Jazul 6, Hontiveros 5, Reyes 3, Espinas 2, Belasco 1, Ramos 0, Eman 0, Bugia 0, Laure 0, Dela Cruz 0.

GINEBRA 80 – Tenorio 18, Ellis 14, Macklin 12, Caguioa 12, Helterbrand 11, Baracael 5, Raymundo 4, Urbiztondo 2, Mamaril 2, Taha 0, Labagala 0, Espiritu 0, Hatfield 0.

Quarters: 23-20, 44-48, 71-72, 104-80