Home » Religion » ‘Year of Faith’ pilgrim churches

‘Year of Faith’ pilgrim churches

Manila, Philippines – The Catholic faithful receive a plenary indulgence each time they visit, in the course of a pilgrimage, a papal basilica, a pilgrim church, a cathedral, or a holy site designated for the Year of Faith.

In the Archdiocese of Manila, five churches have been declared by the Archbishop of Manila Luis Antonio G. Cardinal Tagle as pilgrim churches during the Year of Faith, which started October 11, 2012 and will end on November 24, 2013, the Feast of Christ the King. The five churches are the Minor Basilica of the Nazarene in Quiapo, the Saint John the Baptist in San Juan City, Our Lady of Sorrows Parish in Pasay City, the Archdiocesan Shrine of Divine Mercy in Mandaluyong City, and the National Shrine of the Sacred Heart in Makati City. Churchgoers who will visit or make a pilgrimage to these churches will gain a plenary indulgence.

Plenary indulgence requires that the individual be in state of grace, says the Catholic.org website. A visit to a pilgrimage site is an opportunity for Catholics to experience conversion as well as deepen their relationship with Christ. Those unable to go to churches due to illness may still obtain the indulgence by reciting the prayers designed for the Year of Faith.

The Year of Faith, announced by the Vatican in the Apostolic Letter “Porta Fidei” (Door of Faith) on October 17, 2011, is a special occasion for Catholics to deepen their relationship with Jesus Christ – the focus of the celebration – and engage in New Evangelization. Catholic churches worldwide are hosting their own events, encounters, celebrations, conferences, and exhibitions. In dioceses, it is an occasion for creative dialogue among academic and artistic communities. In local parishes, the focus is on the liturgy, especially the Eucharist. Bishops’ conferences focus on the quality of catechesis, examining local catechisms and catechetical supplements in use in churches to ensure their conformity with the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

We offer special prayers for Minor Basilica of the Nazarene Rector Monsignor Jose Clemente F. Ignacio, Saint John the Baptist Parish Priest Rev. Fr. Francisco M. Ungria Jr., Our Lady of Sorrows Parish Priest Rev. Fr. Jose S. Aripio SSP, Archdiocesan Shrine of Divine Mercy Rector Monsignor Josefi no S. Ramirez, and National Shrine of the Sacred Heart Rector /Parish Priest Rev. Fr. Victor Y. Apacible, in their spiritual task of guiding the Catholic faithful, religious institutes, communities, and ecclesial movements in fulfi lling their roles and participation in the celebration of the Year of Faith. May God bless us all!