Home » Basketball » Seaoil NBTC: Sweet 16 set

Seaoil NBTC: Sweet 16 set

This is Seaoil NBTC’s version of Sweet Sixteen.

Spread over months of intense competition among over 200 high schools from 20 cities all over the nation in the 2012-13 Seaoil National Basketball Training Center season, the hour of reckoning is now at hand for the last 16 schools standing as they fight for the bragging rights to be called No. 1 in the land.

On tap in the Round of 16 are Meralco-Christian Values School from Cavite, Smart-Sto. Domingo National HS from Legazpi City, Meralco-Calayan Educational Foundation Inc. from Lucena, NLEX-St. Albert D’ Great School from Dagupan, NLEX-Don Bosco Technical Institute from Tarlac, NLEX-La Union, Philex-Sacred Heart of Jesus Montessori School from Cagayan de Oro, PhilexHoly Child College of Davao, Philex-Southern City College of Zamboanga, Smart-Iloilo Central Commercial HS, Smart-West Negros University from Bacolod, Maynilad-Sacred Heart SchoolAteneo de Cebu as well as Manila-based champions Extreme 97-San Beda College, Exceed Diesel-National University, 4T Power-Faith Academy, and MakoHope Christian HS.

These teams came from cities that participated in tournament that raged in North Luzon (La Union, Olongapo, Baguio, Dagupan and Tarlac), South Luzon (Cavite, Lucena, Batangas, Legazpi and Naga), Visayas (Cebu, Iloilo, Bacolod, Ormoc, and Tacloban), and Mindanao (Davao, Cagayan de Oro, Iligan, Bukidnon and Zamboanga).

Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu is the two-time defending tournament champion. In last year’s finals, the Magis Eagles behind Julius Cadavis and Henry Asilum defeated La Union College of Nursing Arts and Sciences, 90-78.

Cadavis is now with the Arellano University Chiefs in the NCAA while Asilum is with the UP Fighting Maroons.

The format calls for a sudden death KO matches on March 1 and 2 at the Philsports Arena and Ynares Center in Pasig while the Seaoil NBTC Finals will be played on March 3 after the second Seaoil NBTC High School All-Star Game.

The Seaoil NBTC tournament is also supported by the MVP Sports Foundation and, as per agreement with Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas executive director Sonny Barrios, has been designated the official high school basketball tournament of the SBP.