Home » Local » Teachers group honors Aunor, Cuartero

Teachers group honors Aunor, Cuartero

Manila, Philippines – THE Batangas-Laguna Association of Teachers of Culture and the Arts (BALATCA) this year is honoring three individuals, including a TEMPO editor, who have made significant input in the preservation and promotion of the Philippine arts and culture.

Nestor CuarteroFor this year, Nora Aunor is exalted as BALATCA’s “Pambansang Dangal ng Sining sa Pagganap” for bringing international honors to the country through her films.

BALATCA also confers its first “Dakilang Kayumanggi sa Pamamahayag” to Nestor Cuartero, TEMPO entertainment editor, Manila Bulletin entertainment columnist, Philippine Panorama cultural writer, University of Santo Tomas (UST) professor, for his contributions in the appreciation and propagation of Filipino culture through his written works.

The association also confers the “Dakilang Kayumanggi ng Lahi for Visual Designs” to Ramon Orlina, an internationally renowned glass-sculptor and architect who made the bronze-glass monument at the UST, which marks the university’s 400th anniversary in 2011.

Since its foundation in 2004, BALATCA has been giving out awards to people in a selected field of art annually. It gave its first “Dakilang Kayumanggi ng Lahi” awards to people who promoted local culture and arts through film: Nora Aunor, best actress, “Naglalayag”; Jomari Yllana, best actor, “Minsan Pa”; Amy Austria, best supporting actress, “Beautiful Life”; Dennis Trillo, best supporting actor, “Ashite Imashu”; and Cesar Montano, best director, “Panaghoy sa Suba” which also won as best film.

In the following years, the awards were granted to Aunor for Film (2005), National Artist Dr. Bienvenido Lumbera for Literature (2006), Ed Castrillo for Visual Designs (2007), Bayanihan Dance Troupe for Dances (2008), Leah Salonga for Music & Drama (2009), Dolphy for Films (2010), and National Artist Francisco Sionil-Jose for Literature (2011).