Home » Special Report » 2013 Senators?

2013 Senators?

Manila, Philippines – The political pot does fill over with the list of big guns reported running for re-election or aspiring for a national seat in a limited 12 slot Senate in 2013.

If memory serves, the re-electionist Senators are; Chiz Escudero, Loren Legarda, Gringo Honasan, Allan Peter Cayetano, Antonio Trillanes and Koko Pimentel. For the Liberal Party or a Coalition under the Palace, Representatives Sonny Angara, Erin Tanada and former Senator/current Muntinlupa Congressman Rodolfo Biazon. Other names making a 2nd attempt are: General Danny Lim, Risa Hontiveros, & Sonia Roco; Justice Secretary Leila de Lima is reported to quit by September to concentrate on her campaign. But what is this we are hearing about an alleged scandal by her opponents on said month?

Former Muntinlpa Representative Cynthia Villar heads the Nationalista Party ticket with Deputy Speaker & Cavite Rep. Boying Remulla, and former Surigao Governor Ace Barbers. Former Senators Migz Zubiri, Richard Gordon, Ernesto Maceda and Kita Tatad are into the race. Ilocos Norte Governor Imee Marcos, Zambales Rep. Mitos Magsaysay, and Cagayan Province Rep. Jack Enrile, as well, running come 2013, under what party? Cebu Governor Gwen Garcia has wide support in Visayas & Mindanao — for a possible go at the Senate. In coffee shop and sari-sari store gatherings, Grace Poe (daughter of FPJ) and Gilbert Teodoro are highly sellable names and should be part of PNoy’s ticket. Expectedly, the “leftist” party fronts will field candidates, attempting to coalesce with mainstream Political Parties, but they will prove more a crutch/negative to the latter than plus factor. Eat Bulaga’s Vic Sotto is best advised for the Senate than fight Quezon City Halls money versus come backing Mayor Sonny Belmonte who will give way to Mar Roxas (Congressman) aspiring for Speaker after 2013. If Kris Aquino is interested in higher office for 2016, her platform should be as Senator in 2013 rather than Tarlac Governor. And Willie Revillame who can also win a slot of 12 Senators.

Incoming search terms:

  • list of running senators 2013 (17)
  • gwen garcia erin tañada 2013 (1)
  • List of Senators in the Philippines 2015 (1)